Entrance Exams

CCS (Certified Coding Specialist) Exam

CCS (Certified Coding Specialist) Exam

Within the healthcare and medical coding industry, passing the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) test is a prominent and highly sought-after qualification. The CCS credential, which is granted by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), attests to a person’s knowledge and ability to accurately record medical diagnoses and procedures.

As the link between patient care, medical records, and financial reimbursement, medical coding is essential to the healthcare sector. To ensure effective healthcare management, accurate coding is crucial for researchers, insurance companies, healthcare providers, and policymakers. The highest standard for professionals wishing to prove their proficiency in this important field is the CCS certification.

Here is all you need to know about CCS (Certified Coding Specialist) Exam:



The CCS exam is designed to assess a coder’s knowledge and skills in assigning ICD-10-CM (International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification) and ICD-10-PCS (Procedure Coding System) codes.
This certification is vital for professionals working in healthcare facilities, as accurate coding is essential for proper reimbursement, clinical research, and patient care.


To be eligible for the CCS exam, candidates typically need a solid understanding of medical terminology, anatomy, physiology, and the conventions and guidelines for coding. It’s common for individuals to have completed formal training in medical coding.

Exam Content

The CCS exam consists of multiple-choice questions, case studies, and medical records to code. It covers a wide range of medical specialties, including inpatient and outpatient settings. The exam tests a coder’s ability to interpret medical records and assign the appropriate codes based on the provided documentation.

Coding Books

Test-takers are typically allowed to use specific coding books during the exam. These may include the ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS code books, as well as relevant guidelines.


The CCS exam is scored on a pass/fail basis. Candidates must achieve a passing score to earn the certification.

Certification Renewal

Once certified, CCS professionals must maintain their credentials by fulfilling continuing education requirements to stay up-to-date with coding guidelines and industry changes.


Earning the CCS credential is highly respected within the healthcare industry and can open up career opportunities and increase the earning potential for medical coders.

Exam Fee

CCSCertified Coding Specialist$399$299

Related Article:

Visit the CCS (Certified Coding Specialist) Exam web for more info























Write A Comment